Meet our Trustees

Reverend Frank Chikane

Reverend Frank Chikane serves as one of the founding members of Kagiso Trust and is currently the Chairperson of Kagiso Trust.

Rev. Chikane is the former Commissioner of the first Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) which was responsible for the first democratic elections in 1994; a former Director-General in the Office of the Deputy President and later the Presidency and Secretary of Cabinet. He is the Chairperson of the Kagiso Capital (KC) board and the board of City Power Johannesburg. He is currently a Senior Vice-President of the South African Council of Churches (SACC), a Member of the Board of Sci-Bono Discovery Centre and is part of the Kagiso Shanduka Trust (KST) Advisory Committee. Rev. Chikane is also a former Board Member of Thebe Investments and the Development Bank of Southern Africa.

Mankone Ntsaba

Ms. Mankone Ntsaba serves as the Deputy Chairperson and Trustee of Kagiso Trust (KT) and serves as a member of the Boards of Kagiso Shanduka Trust (KST) Advisory Board and RISIMA Housing Finance Corporation. Ms. Ntsaba serves as a Non-Executive Director, Non-Independent of Kagiso Tiso Holdings Proprietary Limited (KTH).

Ms. Mankone Ntsaba is a Management Consultant and runs her own company, Tsinde Development Consultants. She spent a number of years as a researcher and consultant at the CSIR. She is also a management training facilitator at the National School of Government. She was a member of the Ministerial Advisory Council at the then Department of Water Affairs and Forestry (DWAF). Ms. Ntsaba has contributed to the establishment of a number of NGOs and CBOs whose purpose was to facilitate access to economic empowerment opportunities in rural areas. She is a member of the Institute of Directors (IoDSA).

Nthobakae Angel

Ms. Nthobakae Angel serves as a Director of the Board of Kagiso Africa Investments (Chair), and a Trustee on the Boards of Kagiso Trust, Kagiso Capital, Dzembe Investment Company, Batho Bonke Capital, and March 1st Engineering Company.

Her career spans the private, government and NGO sectors. From 2001 to 2003, she was seconded to the Presidency and served as Chief Operations Officer of Strategic Planning and Communications. From 2004 to 2005 she served as CEO of Mvelaphanda Resources. Ms. Angel was Chair of the women’s investment company, Tsarona Investments, and served as external advisor to the South African board of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Ltd. She was Chairperson of Kagiso Trust Investments and Kagiso Tiso Holdings (KTH), and a Director at ABSA Group, ABSA Bank, Open Africa Organisation and Batho Bonke Capital.

Dean Zwoitahu Nevhutalu

Dean Zwotaiho Nevhutalu serves as a Trustee at Kagiso Trust (KT) and has been involved with KT since 1986. He is a Pastor by profession and has spent a number of years working as the Superintendent General of the Limpopo Provincial Department of Education.

Dean Nevhutalu has served as Chairperson at Kagiso Trust, the Independent Electoral Commission in Limpopo, the Institute of Contextual Theology and Educational Aid Programme, Transvaal branch.

His involvement in community programmes includes being Chairperson of Ecumenical Confessing Fellowship and Educational Aid Programme. He was also involved in the monitoring of the DRC presidential elections. He is a member of the National Project Consolidate Advisory Working Group, chairperson of Kagiso Trust Consultancy and served on the boards of Transitional National Development Trust, CODESA, and Mulweli Counselling Centre.

Bishop Mazwi Tisani

Bishop Mazwi Tisani serves as a Trustee at Kagiso Trust and the Micro-business Forum in King William’s Town.

Bishop Tisani served as Archdeacon of the Anglican Church in King Williamstown in the Eastern Cape Province for many years. He was a Social Change Assistance Trust (SCAT) Trustee for over 16 years, and a Director at Kagiso Trust Investments, now Kagiso Tiso Holdings (KTH).

Bishop Tisani has a long history of involvement with the church, community and development work. He has also served as Archbishop Desmond Tutu’s Special Advisor.

Thabiso Ratsomo

Mr. Thabiso Ratsomo serves as a Trustee at Kagiso Trust. He has extensive experience in the government and non-government sectors, and possesses a deep understanding of the South African political, social, legislative and economic situation through personal activism and his academic studies. Mr. Ratsomo belongs to the 1976 generation of political activists.

He has operational experience in human resource management, financial management, organisational development, policy development and management, and project management and analysis.

Mr. Ratsomo is a Member of the Institute of Directors in South Africa (IoDSA) and Advisory Board of SA Small, Medium Enterprise Corporation (SASMEC). He serves on the Board of Kagiso Africa Investments.

Goolam Aboobaker

Mr. Aboobaker currently serves as a Trustee at Kagiso Trust. His involvement with Kagiso Trust stretches back to 1987.

Mr. Goolam Aboobaker worked as a medical physicist before becoming Special Assistant to the late Professor Jakes Gerwel at the University of the Western Cape in 1988. In 1995, he was appointed Director of Cabinet Research in the late President Nelson Mandela’s office, and in 1997 Chief Director of Economic Development in the policy unit of the office of the deputy president. After his tenure as the Senior Advisor at the International Monetary Fund (IMF), Mr. Aboobaker was appointed Deputy Director-General in the Ministry of Finance.

Mr. Aboobaker was a founding member of the Human Rights Commission (HRC) in Durban and was also involved in the launch of the United Democratic Front (UDF).

Hylton Appelbaum

Mr. Hylton I. Appelbaum is deeply involved in community development, socio-economic development, welfare and education in South Africa. He serves on the boards of many welfare and development organisations. He serves as a Trustee of Kagiso Trust, Nelson Mandela Children’s Fund, the National Business Initiative, the Donald Gordon Foundation, Helen Suzman Foundation and Impumelelo Innovations Award Trust.

Mr. Appelbaum is Chairman of Mindset Network and its subsidiaries. He is committed to improving education in South Africa and has for more than two decades worked to this end. He has been a pioneer in the use of various media in the production and delivery of educational materials.

Mr. Appelbaum has been Non-Executive Director of Liberty Group Ltd. He serves as a Non-Executive Director at Kagiso Media Ltd, Kagiso Capital, Freeplay Holdings of Freeplay Energy Plc. and serves as Director of DeMorgenzon Wine Estate. He also serves as a Director of The Synergos Institute Incorporated and Education Interactive Incorporated. He serves as Executive Trustee of Liberty Foundation and Liberty Educational Foundation.

Andrew Maralack

Mr. Andrew Phillip Maralack serves as a Trustee at Kagiso Trust.

Mr. Maralack is the Chief Executive Officer and Founder of Sizwe Business Recoveries (Pty) Ltd. He is also the Chief Financial Officer and served as Executive Director at Evraz Highveld Steel & Vanadium Ltd.

Mr. Maralack is a qualified Chartered Accountant with extensive experience in finance, auditing, business turnarounds, corporate recovery, consulting, retirement fund industry and corporate governance. He is a member of the Finance Committee of the Cape Town University of Technology and a former member of the Audit Committee.